17 November, 2023

Cricketers earn state selection

THREE Warrnambool cricketers have been named in the Vic Country female squad for the Australian Country Cricket Championships early next year.

By Staff Writer

Cricketers earn state selection - feature photo

The 14-member squad, announced earlier this week, will head to Newcastle in January to contest the championships. 

Included in the team are Warrnambool’s Steph Townsend (who will captain the side), Tiegan Kavanagh and Hannah Rooke (who will make her debut). 

The trio were selected following what was an extensive selection process. 

The squad has been specifically selected for the T20 format and contains a good mix of youth and experience. 

Champion all-rounder Steph Townsend will once again captain the team, with the hope of going one step further in 2024. 

A team dinner and cap presentation will take place before Christmas.


Most Popular